Layman's question on Cosmic Microwave Background

In summary, the cosmic microwave background radiation is just a remnant of the Big Bang, and it is mostly blocked by the Earth's atmosphere. However, it does contain a small amount of radiation that is detectable by satellites.
FalkonJenova
Hi everyone, I'm a lowly computer programmer who has been interested in the CMB lately and recently became curious about one thing...

As I understand it, the CMB is the left-over radiation from the Big Bang spread uniformly throughout the universe.

Does this mean that this radiation is also touching my body and everything I see right now?
Does the Earth's atmosphere somehow prevent it from reaching the surface?

If it is touching me, then does that also mean that the CMB is also occupying the empty space in my atoms?
Or does my body keep it out?

Thanks to anyone who sacrifices their time!

Space news on Phys.org
FalkonJenova said:
Hi everyone, I'm a lowly computer programmer who has been interested in the CMB lately and recently became curious about one thing...

As I understand it, the CMB is the left-over radiation from the Big Bang spread uniformly throughout the universe.

Does this mean that this radiation is also touching my body and everything I see right now?

If it is touching me, then does that also mean that the CMB is also occupying the empty space in my atoms?

Yes it surrounds your body and must go a little ways in. But it's harmless

The peak wavelength is 1.1 millimeter
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cosmic_microwave_background_radiation

Out of curiosity I looked at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Microwave_oven and learned that CMB is 100 times higher frequency than microwave oven radiation. The shorter wavelength probably means it is less penetrating so I would imagine that most common liquid or solid material would block it. Your skin probably stops all but a tiny fraction of it.