Launch Loop to Space: Questions & Answers

In summary, the author believes that a launch loop to space is possible, but it would require a very high speed and would be very dangerous. He also suggests that it might be better to use pellets rather than a ribbon to achieve this speed.
I3VI5
Hello guys, this is my first post here so sorry if I put it in the wrong section.

I heard the idea of a launch loop to space and thought it was really cool so I wonder why they haven't build it yet.

Now since I'm no physics expert I need some clarifications on the physics in building it.

Before starting let's make the assumption that we can "easily" achieve the necessary speed to send it to LEO.

OK? So here are the questions:

1. If we build a launch loop on sea level, what is the speed it must achieve to get to LEO?

2. If it is propelled in a vacuum tube, then after reaching the needed speed (my guess is 10km/s), can it withstand the impact with air at sea level? If no, at what altitude will it be able to withstand it with the current technology?

3.What is the sonic boom at those speeds?

5. Where is the best place on Earth to build it? (I have 10bn$ ready to invest! :-D )

6. If you were to design one, and money was not an issue (I can provide more than 10 billion if you want! lol), what would it be like?

7. Why haven't they build it yet? I'm tired of going to Bora Bora for vacation, I need something new! lol

Before dismissing the idea or calling me names reflect a bit on it, it won't hurt anyone.

Thanks in advance for all your responses!

Astronomy news on Phys.org
Why do you assume, before anyone answers, that they are going to be dismissive?

It's a perfectly valid idea, but hopelessly speculative.

Now, have you got anything you want to say that's actually worth talking about?

AJ Bentley said:
Why do you assume, before anyone answers, that they are going to be dismissive?... Now, have you got anything you want to say that's actually worth talking about?