Late to the game - do I have a shot at a physics PhD?

In summary: I think he's trying to give people information. If you're not interested in physics grad school, then it's important to know that. I think people should be thoughtful about whether or not they want to go into a doctoral program in physics.
plussed
Late to the game -- do I have a shot at a physics PhD?

Hello!

I've decided that I want to switch careers and work toward a physics PhD (ultimately more interested in research than teaching). Here's my situation: I studied electrical engineering at an ivy league school with a 3.75 GPA. Got my bachelors in 1998 and masters in 1999. But since then I've been doing mostly software development at various places, none of it particularly related to physics or engineering.

Realistically, what are my chances of getting into a graduate program? Do I even have a shot at a school like MIT? I realize that lots of things are working against me. I think I'll need to do pretty well on the GRE (particularly the physics subject test), though this will be a challenge since I'll need to teach myself all the subjects not covered in depth in engineering undergrad (quantum mechanics, relativity, and statistical mechanics at a minimum), plus brush up on everything else. I'm comfortable with self-learning and test-taking though so I'm confident I can do this. Does anyone know how highly schools value GRE scores in picking applicants? What kind of score should I be shooting for?

I'm sure it also doesn't help that I don't really have any research experience. Plus I've been out of school for so long that my letters of recommendation will all come from software people.

So I guess I'm mainly wondering what my chances look like. If anyone has any advice or opinions on the matter, I'd appreciate hearing them...

Thanks for the help.

Physics news on Phys.org

You don't need to do "pretty well" on the GRE. You need to smoke the GRE. Think 90th percentile. 95th would be better.