Latch to quick 3V signal with SR latch

• Thread starter pegasixi
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Signal Sr
In summary, the conversation discusses using a SR latch or flip flop to create an external latch circuit for a quick 3V signal that needs to be recorded by a slow sampling DAQ. There is a potential race condition that can be addressed by using two latches and sampling/clearing them separately.
pegasixi
I'm a beginner at electronics, so please bear with me...

I have a 3V signal that is triggered under a certain condition and stays on for less than a second (I have no control over this). This is connected to a DAQ that can only sample at very slow rates (Also, no control over this). I'm trying to build a quick and dirty external latch circuit that will allow me to register this quick 3V signal and then "latch" on to it so that it can be registered by the DAQ (which samples at 1 sample per minute more or less)

My idea is to use a SR latch with the SET connected to a lead that connects to the terminal that outputs the momentary 3V signal and the RESET connected to any low voltage source. This way, when the 3V signal goes off, it will be latched to 3V and be able to be recorded by the DAQ when it finally gets around to sampling it.

Am I on the right track? Thank you.

Engineering news on Phys.org
pegasixi said:
I'm a beginner at electronics, so please bear with me...

I have a 3V signal that is triggered under a certain condition and stays on for less than a second (I have no control over this). This is connected to a DAQ that can only sample at very slow rates (Also, no control over this). I'm trying to build a quick and dirty external latch circuit that will allow me to register this quick 3V signal and then "latch" on to it so that it can be registered by the DAQ (which samples at 1 sample per minute more or less)