Laser fusion and science fiction

In summary, the conversation discussed the use of catalysts in nuclear fusion, specifically gold nanoparticles in laser fusion. It was determined that gold-deuterium fusion is difficult to achieve due to the high coulomb barrier of the gold nucleus, and there is currently no way to catalyze fusion reactions. However, the fast ignition method in laser fusion uses a small gold cone to trigger the fusion reaction with less effort, but this is not considered true catalysis. The conversation also mentioned alternative methods of fusion triggering, such as proton beams and explosion-driven argon lasers. It was also noted that muon catalyzed fusion is a potential method, but it has not yet been achieved at a practical level.
mohd_adam
I'm a science fiction writer, currently I write a novel related to laser fusion. As I know in chemistry, catalysis is the process in which the rate of a chemical reaction is either increased or decreased by means of a chemical substance known as a catalyst.

Are there catalysts in the nuclear fusion? ( for example gold nanoparticles )
In the laser fusion, D-T fuse at 100 million degrees C.

Could D-T with gold nanoparticles fuse at less than 100 million degrees C ?

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
Gold-deuterium fusion would be endothermic, and besides very difficult to achieve due to the high coulomb barrier of the gold nucleus (more protons).

Before they redid their page, ITER had a nice graph of fusion fuels' reactivity versus temperature, and it had "catalyzed D-D" as one of the fuels, but I do not know how one can "catalyze" ANY fusion (well, they call one method "muon catalyzed fusion" but that's currently unobtainium).