Ladder in static equilibrium

In summary: Thank you again for your help. I feel much better knowing I can get through this question with a little help from you all.
penroseandpaper
Homework Statement
A ladder of length 'L' is leant against a wall, making an angle of 'a' with the horizontal. There are five forces acting on it (normal from floor, friction from floor, weight in centre of ladder, normal off wall and friction on wall), and the coefficient of static friction is 0.6 at both points.

The ladder is in mechanical equilibrium and axis of rotation is at the centre of mass, thus write down the components of the forces that act as torques, state which way the resultant torque acts (into or out of the screen) and calculate the smallest angle for which the ladder won't slide.
Relevant Equations
No net force
No net torque

Torque = r × F
Hi everyone,

I'm studying an introductory physics course at college, but our teacher is off sick. On top of that, a planned strike means we won't be getting a new science tutor until the start of next month - instead, we've been told to read the textbook and answer the questions. I've got up to torques and have now hit a brick wall. I was wondering if you'd be kind enough to provide me a few pointers on a practice question to which I don't have a solution to or an answer?

Firstly, a few overall questions:

•Am I right in thinking there are 4 torques at play - a component of all forces, minus weight?

•When I'm resolving them, do I make the ladder equivalent to the X axis? Does this mean all the torques are represented by L × Force × sin 'a' (I've attached an image of my sketch to this effect)?

•Does the resultant torque make the ladder come away from the wall rather than sliding down it? If it falls backwards, the torque would act out of the screen - I believe.

•How do we determine which torques are positive and which are negative - on my sketch, it would only be the friction on the floor that is negative?