Lack of confidence as a postdoc

• Thread starter Tiger99
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Postdoc
In summary: No, I'm the only postdoc in my lab. It makes me feel better that you think you ask stupid questions too.Are there any other fellow postdocs working with you? Maybe you could develop the...confidence to ask beginner-type questions with them.
Tiger99
For those of you who have had postdocs, how much did you expect of them when they first arrived? Did you expect them to already know a lot?

I just started my first postdoc and I'm finding I'm really lacking confidence, and I'm starting to feel really isolated.

The reason is, compared to when I was doing a PhD, I don't have people who I feel it is okay to ask stupid questions with, and since I'm starting in a reasonable different area, I'd feel like most of my questions might be stupid.

As a PhD student, I had my fellow-PhD students who were all in the same boat, and so I could ask them. Also, I didn't mind admitting my ignorance to my advisor (at least a little bit) because as a student it felt acceptable not to know things.

Now as a postdoc I feel like there's an expectation on me to know things, so I'm afraid to ask beginner-type questions. Everyone else seems smarter and more knowledgeable, and I don't even know why - they just seem like physicists - whereas I still feel like a student. I get nervous around people at the best of times anyway. So feeling inferior makes talking with my colleagues nerve-racking.

Has any of you had experience with postdocs asking really ignorant questions? Did it make you wish you'd never hired them? Or do you think it is okay?

Physics news on Phys.org