Kelvin Scale Accuracy: Why 1K = 1°C?

In summary, the Kelvin scale is considered more advantageous than the Celsius scale because its zero point is absolute zero, making thermodynamic formulas simpler. However, this does not mean that the Kelvin scale is more accurate, as accuracy and precision are properties of the measuring device rather than the measurement scale. The choice of using Kelvin in physics is not based on accuracy, but rather on its status as the "absolute" scale.
CheesyPeeps
Why is the Kelvin scale more accurate than the Celsius scale when a change of 1K is equal to a change of 1°C? It's something I've always wondered about but never looked into.

(Apologies if the answer is incredibly simple. I'm still very new to the world of physics :smile:)

Physics news on Phys.org
Accuracy and precision are properties of the measuring device, not the measurement scale. You could have an accurate thermometer marked in Celcius and an inaccurate thermometer marked in Kelvin.

The advantage of Kelvin over Celsius is that the zero point in Kelvin is absolute zero while the zero point in Celsius is just the freeing point of water. When doing thermodynamics the formulas become simpler when 0 is set to absolute zero.

Ah, that makes sense. I definitely see why Kelvin is advantageous.
Thanks a lot!

CheesyPeeps said:
Why is the Kelvin scale more accurate than the Celsius scale when a change of 1K is equal to a change of 1°C? It's something I've always wondered about but never looked into.

Where did you get the idea that the Kelvin scale is more accurate than the Celsius scale?

We tend to use the Kelvin scale in many situations in physics not because it is more accurate. But rather, that is considered, in thermodynamics, as the "absolute" scale. It has nothing to do with accuracy, as DaleSpam stated.

Zz.

ZapperZ said:
Where did you get the idea that the Kelvin scale is more accurate than the Celsius scale?