Job Suggestions for Physics Majors: Beyond Teaching

In summary: The type, quantity, and quality of jobs in physics is VERY LOCATION DEPENDENT! A physics graduate in, say, central Africa will have a very different job prospect than a physics graduate in Chicago, Illinois.
rania yassin
well,, i still have one and a half year to go,, so you might think that this is a little bit early but this is really a concern for me,, i really don't know what should i do after i graduate,,, I'm majoring in physics and I'm going to be honest I SUCK AT TEACHING ! I'm considering having masters and PhD right after i graduate but i really want to start my career early, so i think I'm going to study and work at the same time... So what I'm asking for is your suggestions for jobs -in the field of physics- other than teaching..
Thank you very much in advance :D

Physics news on Phys.org
Within academia there are some pure research institutes in different parts of the world where there is no teaching required (as well as some non-teaching positions at universities). However, singling out these is to thin the field of possible employers in an already harsh job market. I am sure there are also non-academic positions in industry where you would be doing things related to physics, but this depends to a very large degree on what kind of jobs you would be interested in.

Likes rania yassin
Well, most other physics professors suck at teaching too, so I'm not sure that's a reason to give up on the idea. . . (There might be other very good reasons for it though)

Likes Mmm_Pasta, JakeBrodskyPE and rania yassin
Locrian said:
Well, most other physics professors suck at teaching too, so I'm not sure that's a reason to give up on the idea. . . (There might be other very good reasons for it though)
hahahahhahaha,, you do have a great point :P

Orodruin said: