Job Application -- have not heard back

In summary, the speaker is currently an electrical engineer and was asked by a former colleague to apply for a position at a new company. Despite applying, they have not heard back for three weeks and are considering reaching out to their former colleague. The position is not publicly posted and the speaker is unsure if other candidates have been contacted. They are advised to make contact with someone involved in the hiring process to learn about the timeline, competition, and expectations. The hiring process may take several months and it is not uncommon for companies to have slow HR processes.
yayablahblah
I currently work as an electrical engineer at a large company. An engineer I worked with for 1 year left the company last fall to help start a new company (approx 15 people). He recently told me they need a young electrical engineer and asked me to apply. I applied and have not heard back for 3 weeks.

That seems like a long period of time to me. I understand that often times you do not hear back from employers after a job application, but I feel that since he knew me, asked me to apply, and he would be my direct supervisor that I would at least get a job interview. Should I reach out to him in some way? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

edit... it is also important to note that this position is not publicly posted, and I am unsure if they have reached out to anyone else regarding the position.

Physics news on Phys.org
Personally, I would give the guy a call or send him an email but you know the situation better than I do.

Likes yayablahblah
I agred with Phinds.