[itex]L^2(-\infty, +\infty)[/itex] and LTI systems

In summary, the conversation discusses the concepts of eigenfunction theory and Sturm Liouville operators in Hilbert spaces. The speaker is an electrical engineer trying to understand these concepts and their applications in control theory. They mention the use of Fourier transforms and Laplace transforms in analyzing LTI (linear time invariant) systems, which are a special case of linear operators in the L2(-∞, ∞) space. The conversation also touches on the use of Green's functions and the limitations of using Fourier and Laplace transforms for systems with time-varying coefficients.
solanojedi
Hi everyone,
I'm an electrical engineer trying to make a little bit of order in my mind about eigenfunction theory, sturm liouville operators (regular and singular) on my own free time and I thought I was grasping almost everything, but I had a little doubt that is actually coming from the field of control theory.

First, I start from the math: I learned (I'll be for sure approximate, I apologize, but correct me if I'm wrong) that in Hilbert spaces it is always possible to define a basis made of eigenfunctions and every operator and function existing inside the space can be rewritten using that basis. However, how to find this basis?
There are particular operators called Sturm Liouville operators that, defining an eigenvalue problem, can generate a set of functions and those functions are the basis for the corresponding space I'm working with. In particular, there are Sturm Liouville "singular" problems that are defined over a space that is not "finite" but extends from [itex]-\infty[/itex] to [itex] +\infty [/itex]: one of them, and for an engineer the most important, is [itex] L^2(-\infty, +\infty) [/itex].