Is this circuit possible? And what resistor should I use?

In summary, Jamie from Ireland is new to making circuits and wants to create an LED circuit with 6 white LEDs and a 9V battery. They are wondering what resistor to use and if it's possible with the given power. Other users suggest starting with 1k resistors and adjusting to desired brightness, and also mention the option of wiring LEDs in series pairs to save energy. Jamie also asks if they can use normal wire instead of breadboard jumper cables.
JJM596
Hi all,
I am a new member here.

I am quite new to making circuits,etc. and have decided to make something easy-ish on a breadboard. I have included a diagram of what I am planning to make. I am using 6x white
LEDs and a 9v battery. I was wondering what resistor I should use for
this? Also, is this even possible? Do I have enough power to light up 6 LEDs not full power
, as I know i don't have enough power for that, but even just a little bit bright? Would really appreciate
any help on this. apologies for bad grammar, am in a rush!

Thanks, Jamie
Ireland

Attachments

• circuit..jpg
    circuit..jpg
    35.3 KB · Views: 443
Engineering news on Phys.org
Hey there Jamie
welcome to PF

1k resistors ( as currently shown) would be OK as a starting point, then increase or decrease a little to get the brightness you want

Make sure you have the LED's the right way around :smile:Dave

White LEDs drop a forward voltage of about 3.3V.

Each LED will have (9V – 3.3V) / 1kR = 5.7 mA. I would have expected Ifwd to be closer to a typical 20 mA.
For 20 mA you would use R = (9V – 3.3V) / 20 mA = 285 ohms, use standard value 270R.
Total current will be 6 chains * 21.1 mA = 126.6 mA.

You can save energy by wiring LEDs in series pairs. Then for 20 mA LED current you need a series;
R = (9V – 3.3V – 3.3V) / 20mA = 120 ohms, a standard value.
Total current will be I = 3 chains * 20 mA = 60 mA.
So the battery should last twice as long.