Is there a good introduction to Hawking Radiation?

In summary: This a standard and a very interesting book, but it has a fairly steep learning curve.The other standard is Quantum Fields in Curved Space by Birrell and Davies.A nice though less detailed introduction Chapter 9 Quantum Field Theory in Curved Spacetime from Spacetime and Geometry: An Introduction to General Relativity by Carroll.I looked at Wald. It seems that it is rather involved. I will try to get the other books. In any case, if you can indicate any material that will help, I will be very grateful.I am just an undergraduate student of physics and I would like to know what would be the best (most pedagogical) introduction to Hawking Radiation.
JustStudent
I am just an undergraduate student of physics and I would like to know what would be the best (most pedagogical) introduction to Hawking Radiation.

Physics news on Phys.org
JustStudent said:
I am just an undergraduate student of physics and I would like to know what would be the best (most pedagogical) introduction to Hawking Radiation.

Do you have any experience with general relativity?

I guess I have a reasonable knowledge of GR and QFT. At least, I hope so. Anyway, if it is not enough, I can always study more...

JustStudent said:
I guess I have a reasonable knowledge of GR and QFT. At least, I hope so. Anyway, if it is not enough, I can always study more...

Then maybe the book the book Quantum Effects in Gravity

http://www.cambridge.org/catalogue/catalogue.asp?isbn=9780521868341

by Mukhanov and Winitzki, which has exercises and solutions (not just answers). Take a look at the Table of Contents.

Also, try Wald's "Quantum Field Theory in Curved Spacetime and Black Hole Thermodynamics", chapter 7.

Thanks a lot. I will try both.

DopplerDog said:
Also, try Wald's "Quantum Field Theory in Curved Spacetime and Black Hole Thermodynamics", chapter 7.

This a standard and a very interesting book, but it has a fairly steep learning curve.