Is the negation of the statement in the book correct too?

In summary, the conversation discusses the theorem of definition by recursion, specifically the part where a contradiction is derived in the proof. The book states that if there is a function f: N -> H such that f(1)=e and f o s = k o f, then for any (n,y) in f that is not equal to (1,e), there exists (m,u) in f such that (n,y) = (s(m), k(u)). The poster questions the validity of this statement and presents their own negation, which they believe to be equivalent. The other person confirms that the negation is correct and suggests looking at a list of rules for negation for further reference. The poster
member 587159
Hello.

I'm currently studying about natural numbers and I encountered the theorem of definition by recursion:

This states:

Let ##H## be a set, let ##e \in H## and let ##k: H \rightarrow H## be a function. Then there is a unique function ##f: \mathbb{N} \rightarrow H## such that ##f(1) = e## and ##f \circ s = k \circ f##

I will not post the entire proof here, as it is a quite long proof, but the part where I have a question about.

In the proof, they prove that:

If ##(n,y) \in f## and ##(n,y) \neq (1,e)##, then there is some ##(m,u) \in f## such that ##(n,y) = (s(m), k(u))##

They do this by deriving a contradiction. I quote the book:

Suppose to the contrary that there is some ##(r,t) \in f## such that ##(r,t) \neq (1,e)##, and that there is no ##(m,u) \in f## such that ##(r,t) = (s(m),k(u))##

Writing out the statement we want to proof with symbols, we get:

##(n,y) \in f \land (n,y) \neq (1,e) \Rightarrow \exists (m,u) \in f : (n,y) = (s(m), k(u))##

I think, if we negate this (to start with a contradiction), we should have instead:

##(n,y) \in f \land (n,y) \neq (1,e) \land \forall (m,u) \in f : (n,y) \neq (s(m), k(u))##
and thus, since the book recalls ##(n,y) = (r,t)## since ##(n, y)## was used previously: