Is the hydrogen molecule bonding really covalent?

In summary, the conversation discusses the construction of the wave function for the hydrogen molecule using the MO technique. It is found that the molecule has a covalent bonding wave function with a small contribution of ionic bonding. The value of lambda, which is used to improve the accuracy of the model, is basis set dependent. Additionally, it is mentioned that ionic structures can be avoided in a valence bond calculation by using a basis of orbitals with hybridization, and that Bader analysis can be used to measure the amount of ionicity. The conversation also touches on the qualitative concept of covalent and ionic bonding and how the electronic wave function shifts from purely covalent to mainly covalent as the atoms are brought
eoghan
Hi there!
I'm studying the hydrogen molecule. According to the MO technique I start from one-electron molecular orbitals to construct the wave function of the entire molecule.
Afa hydrogen is concerned, I can construct two [tex]^1\Sigma_g[/tex] orbitals:
[tex]\Phi_A=\Phi_g(1)\Phi_g(2)\chi_{0,0}[/tex]
[tex]\Phi_B=\Phi_u(1)\Phi_u(2)\chi_{0,0}[/tex]
Where [tex]\Phi_g(i)[/tex] means that the i-th electron is in the gerale orbital obtained from the one-electron molecule.
Computing the energies for [tex]\Phi_A[/tex] and [tex]\Phi_B[/tex] it is found that only [tex]\Phi_A[/tex] is a bonding orbital, so that the wave function of the hydrogen molecule is [tex]\Phi_A[/tex] where the two electrons are both in the gerale orbital with antiparallel spins.

To improve the accuracy of the model, a linear combination of [tex]\Phi_A[/tex] and [tex]\Phi_B[/tex] can be considered:
[tex]\Phi_T=\Phi_A+ \lambda \Phi_B[/tex]
using this wave function as the trial function for a variational method, [tex]\lambda[/tex] can be found.
Now, this wavefunction can be rewritten as a sum of a covalent bonding wavefuntion and a ionic bonding wavefunction: