Is the coil the only viable shape for an electric engine ?

In summary, the conversation discusses the use of coils in electric engines and whether they are the most efficient way to induce current. The speaker wonders if other shapes, such as rings or cylinders, could be used instead and if there are any formulas for determining the optimal coil for a specific engine. The responder notes that there are various motor topologies and that coils are typically used because they provide a high flux with low current. They also mention other types of engines that use different shapes or rely on electric fields rather than magnetic fields.
zunf
Hi, I'm an hobbyist
right now I'm into electric engines, simple engines for low voltage and low current applications; I have noticed that there are many variations about how and what an electric engine can do even considering only DC motors, but basically all the engines that I have examined up until now have something in common, and that is the presence of a coil, a copper coil, used as a conductor in the internals of the engine itself .

I wonder if such twisted copper cables are the only way to induce current in a DC / AC engine, for example can you replace a coil with a ring of copper ? A cylinder ?

What is the physical explanation that motivates the use of a coil and what makes it efficient compared to other shapes / solutions ?

After all the pulse of current is given by the change in the magnetic flux, which basically refers to the rotating parts of your engine, up until now I haven't found any explanation as to why it's an optimal thing to use a coil rather than a cylinder, or a sphere, or any other piece of geometry in metal form .
There are formulas that dictate the ins and outs of an optimal coil given the specs of an electrical engine ?

Engineering news on Phys.org
There are lots of motor topologies. There are disk motors, linear motors, solid plate motors, etc.