Is the Charge Q Lorentz Invariant in Quantum Field Theory?

In summary, the conversation discussed the concept of Lorentz invariance in quantum field theory and how it relates to transformations of fields and integration variables. The main point was that if a conserved vector field satisfies a certain boundary condition, then the charge is independent of the hypersurface on which it is evaluated and is also invariant under Lorentz transformations. This is important in understanding the properties of local quantum field theory.
equalmcsquare
Hi all,

I'm studying quantum field theory and I'm watching video lectures on Harward University website (Professor Colemann's lectures). Now, in lesson number six at 1h-6 minute a student asks why after trasforming field by a Lorentz transformation he doesn't transform also integration variable (I do not catch very well student's voice...) and Professor Colemann explains that is we transform field AND observer we are not applying Lorentz transformation but a coordinates system change..could you clarify me this point?

Many thanks,

Physics news on Phys.org
Wow. Despite Sidney Coleman's well-deserved reputation, the poor A-V quality of these lectures IMO is a real obstacle to learning physics from them. I'd get a book.

Yes I know.
Let's suppose I have an object, a four vector or something else, and we have defined a quantity as for example an integral in all space (spatial) of this object or a function of this objects..we want to investigate lorentz properties of this integral..I lorentz transform the function to be integrated but not the volume element or also the volume element?