Is Static Equilibrium Really That Simple?

In summary, the conversation is about a student from Norway struggling with a static equilibrium problem. The student is looking for help in finding the forces Fa and Fb on a given figure using the equations ΣF_X = 0, ΣF_Y = 0, and Στ = 0. The student has attempted to solve the problem by drawing the forces on the figure and manipulating the relevant equations, but is still unsure of the correct method. They are seeking guidance in finding the correct solution.
urk.nono
Hello! I'm a student from Norway, and I've been struggling with a static equilibrium for a few hours now. The terms I use might not be "right", but I'll try to explain the problem to the best of my ability.

Homework Statement

Find the forces Fa and Fb on this figure:

http://img44.imageshack.us/img44/4505/321k.jpg

Homework Equations

[tex]\Sigma F_X = 0[/tex]
[tex]\Sigma F_Y = 0[/tex]
[tex]\Sigma \tau = 0[/tex] (sum torque = 0)

The Attempt at a Solution

I solved it by drawing the forces on the figure:
http://img41.imageshack.us/img41/7513/321graph.jpg

After much fiddling with the "relevant equations" I came across the following:

20kN *3,5m - Fb * sin(30) * 5,5m = 0
=> Fb = 37,21kN

OR

20kN * 3,5m - Fb * cos(70) * 5,5m = 0
=> Fb = 37,21kN

Fa * cos(11,75) * 2m - 20m * 3,5m = 0
=> Fa = 35,74kN

I know from my measurements and by checking the solution in the book, it's pretty damn close. By which formula, or by what method I got no clue whatsoever.

I'd appreciate if someone could help me out by pointing me in the right direction :smile:

Thanks in advance

Urk

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
Hi urk.nono, welcome to PF. I am not sure what the second drawing you posted shows. I am used to force vectors represented as arrows, not line segments. Anyway, if you write the x and y components of the force at A as [FSUB]x[/SUB] (to the right) and Fy (up), can you find three equations saying

ΣFi,x = 0
ΣFi,y = 0
Σtorques = 0
?