Is Spivak not enough of a cookbook?

• Thread starter AlwaysCurious
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Spivak
In summary, the conversation discusses using Spivak's Calculus on Manifolds as a follow-up to a rigorous single variable calculus course. The book covers advanced topics such as epsilon delta proofs, differential forms, and integration on manifolds, but may not cover all of the standard material in a non-honors calculus 3 course. Prior knowledge of proof-based linear algebra is also necessary.
AlwaysCurious
Hey there,

I'm a high school student learning some basic linear algebra and multivariable calculus. I just ordered Spivak's Calculus on Manifolds, since the book that I've been going through was not as interesting (not a horrible cookbook, but most of the problems could be done without a lot of thought), and since I learned calculus out of his much less terse Calculus, which by and large I really enjoyed (although I did struggle with it quite a bit at the outset).

My question is, will Spivak give me all of the necessary information that one would typically get out of a standard cookbook calc 3 course? It certainly would give me more of an education, but would I learn all of the standard topics covered?

Thank you!
Brian

Physics news on Phys.org
The term "calc 3" doesn't have any widely accepted definition.