Is my Fall schedule too demanding?

In summary: I think it makes sense because it balances out the workload and makes sure you're not just breezing through the material.A normal work load is 5 classes per semester, so this looks like a pretty easy schedule. However, if you're looking to work full-time and maintain a good GPA, this may not be the best option.
CSpence
Hey all,

I'm a CCC student right now pursuing a career in Aerospace Engineering. Right now my GPA is a 3.7 and I only intend for it to go higher. It would probably be a 3.8-3.9 if my Chem teacher didn't screw me over last semester, but that's besides the point. :P

This fall I'm taking:
Physics Mechanics of Solids - 4 Credits
Calculus I - 5 Credits
General Chemistry I - 5 Credits

My schedule is pretty hectic as well. On some days I have classes from 8:30am - 5pm. That's just too much, especially considering I want to work. I'm not sure what my counselor was thinking by not saying how difficult this could be.

I'm thinking of dropping Chemistry and adding in a filler course, but I doubt my college has many classes still available for Fall. Do you guys think this load is feasible for someone who wants to work? I don't see how people here manage to take 5 science/math/physics based courses a semester and maintain a good GPA.

Physics news on Phys.org
Depends on how smart you are. Honestly that schedule doesn't look too bad for me, but I imagine the labs will be time consuming.

fss said:
Depends on how smart you are. Honestly that schedule doesn't look too bad for me, but I imagine the labs will be time consuming.

I'm a pretty smart guy. It's not that I'm not smart enough for these classes but the work load may be mentally draining after a while. Especially for someone who works and wants to continue working.

What is a CCC student?

Mororvia said:
What is a CCC student?

California Community College

That schedule looks fine. It's three classes.

James LeBron said: