Is middleware a separate software

• Thread starter jackson6612
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Software
In summary, middleware helps bridge the gap between traditional server solutions and online gaming experiences that feature high-definition, high-resolution, graphic-intense presentations. It is a hardware/software type that can be software or hardware, and the general user is unaware of its presence.
jackson6612
An excellent example of middleware would be a suite of software that helps serve an online gaming environment. More and more frequently, online games feature high-definition, high-resolution, graphic-intense presentations. Traditional server solutions are no longer enough to facilitate such online gaming experiences, especially if they are multi-player. Middleware helps bridge the gap, both in reality and in virtual reality.

Source: http://www.wisegeek.com/what-is-middleware.htm

Hi

I'm a computer layman so I request you to be specific. Thanks.

Is middleware a separate software which needs to be installed in order to play games online? I have seen my cousins playing online multi-player games without the use of any additional software except the game software? Where does this middleware software reside? Does it require a central server? Is it like torrent software (which I think is a middleware) because it allows different users to interact via some server(s). Please help me with it. Thank you.

Technology news on Phys.org

I recommend you read your own link. It explains it rather well.

What your article discusses and what you have questioned aren't really on the same track.

Middleware is describing a hardware/software type, not a specific piece of software (e.g. word processor is a software type, MS Word is a specific piece of software).