Is it possible for a freshman to find a summer REU program?

In summary, a sophomore should be able to do a freshman level REU in Math with no problem. Application requirements might vary depending on the program, but there is a good chance of being accepted.
xbomber88
I'm not actually a freshman. I'm a sophomore. But I didn't start doing physics until this year and fell in love with it and decided to declare it as my major. But I'm wondering is if it would be possible for me to find a summer REU program with only 2 semesters of physics? By this summer I'll only have had an intro course in mechanics and relativity and an intro E&M course. With that background is there any way that I could get accepted to an REU program? Even if I do get accepted to a program I feel like I'll be kind of intimidated by it. What kind of research could I really do with only a year of physics? Would it even be worth my time to try and do one this summer or should I just wait until I've had another year of physics? Does anybody know of any specific programs that would be open to taking people like me?

Physics news on Phys.org
Count me as being very interested in this as well. What level do you need to be at to get a decent REU?

Yes, I was a freshman doing Aerospace Engineering and did my REU at the McDonald Observatory during the summer between my first and second years. It's located like in the middle of nowhere, Texas (Fort Davis).

Next summer I was in Socal for Aerospace Corp. Most people would think Socal would be>>> that place, but no. Both were amazing in their own ways.

I did a math REU last summer as a freshman, but I had already taken the first semester of undergrad analysis and two semesters of linear algebra (first semester with matrices second semester abstract) plus about 5-6 other "past Calculus" math classes. With only the freshman physics classes, it will be hard to make yourself stand out enough to get in. Freshman overall are pretty rare finds in REUs.