Is it necessary to study Euclidean Geometry before Differential Geom.?

In summary, the conversation discusses the student's dilemma between studying Euclidean Geometry and other disciplines in preparation for Differential Geometry. The expert advises that while basic knowledge of analytic geometry is necessary, more important are calculus and linear algebra. The use of topology in differential geometry depends on the course and the teacher's chosen textbook. For most undergraduate courses, strong multivariable calculus and linear algebra are sufficient, while higher level courses may require a deeper understanding of smooth manifolds. It is recommended to obtain the textbook and syllabus in advance to assess the level of difficulty and required background knowledge.
Tosh5457
Hi, I'm a Physics undergraduate, and this semester I have the option to choose between Geometry (Axiomatic Euclidean Geometry) and other disciplines. In the next year I want to be ready to study Differential Geometry, but I don't know if I need to study Euclidean Geometry first. The teacher of D. Geometry told me it would help, but I really hate studying Euclidean Geometry, so if I could avoid it the better. What do you think?

Physics news on Phys.org

No, you really don't need to study it beforehand. Of course, you need to be comfortable with basic analytic geometry such as finding equations of lines and circles. But I assume you know that from high school.

More important is calculus and linear algebra. That is going to be used quite heavily.

micromass said:
No, you really don't need to study it beforehand. Of course, you need to be comfortable with basic analytic geometry such as finding equations of lines and circles. But I assume you know that from high school.

More important is calculus and linear algebra. That is going to be used quite heavily.

Thank you. My teacher also told me that I'll need topology, does differential geometry use it alot?

Tosh5457 said: