Is it a good idea to major in computer science and pure math

In summary, the conversation discusses the impact of having a background in both math and computer science on job prospects and the best career complement for a computer science degree. The experts suggest that while having a background in math may not necessarily impress hiring managers, it can be helpful in certain areas of computer science such as theoretical computer science. They also recommend focusing on developing practical skills and building a portfolio to stand out to potential employers.
TheMathNoob
I am not an expert in the field, but intuitively I think that a resume with both math and computer science has a lot of impact. I also think that math can help me understand computer science better. Next quarter, I am planning to take classical geometry, so I am just wondering if this class would help me in CS.

Physics news on Phys.org
Only if you were getting into computer graphics. The proofs that are done in Geometry help with logical thinking but geometry will mostly help you when you graphical programming or 2D/3D modeling programs/simulations.

Last edited:
jedishrfu said:
Only if you were getting into computer graphics. The proofs that are done in Geometry help with logical thinking but geomtry will mostly help you when you graphical programming or 2D/3D modeling programs/simulations.
I have time and room for a second career that doesn't take too long such as mathematics. What would be the best career complement for CS?

I did physics and comp sci although my original thought was the other way round. I graduated and then started doing programming so all the math I had with variables and formulas and working with linear algebra translated easily into writing Fortran programs (1970's).

Later I got into simulations where my Differential Equations stuff helped. Now my style is more descriptive variable names, OO and some fundamental OO design patterns.