Is Introduction to Physics the Same for Undergrad and High School Students?

In summary, an intro to physics course may use calculus or only algebra and trigonometry, and may or may not use a textbook. An intro to physics course may be taught in high school, undergraduate college, or graduate school.
Klaz
Hi everyone. I just want to ask what exactly is intro to physics? Is that what undergrad physics students study or is it high school physics? I am currently studying the textbook physics by David Halliday.

Physics news on Phys.org
In the US, there are generally speaking three kinds of intro physics courses. One kind uses calculus and a textbook like Halliday/Resnick/Walker's Fundamentals of Physics. A second kind does not use calculus, only algebra and some trigonometry, and a textbook like Serway/Vuille's College Physics. A third kind uses minimal math, and a textbook like Hewitt's Conceptual Physics.

All three kinds of courses may be taught in high school or in undergraduate college/university.

If you're using Halliday/Resnick/Krane's Physics, that is a calculus-based intro physics book that goes into somewhat greater depth than Halliday/Resnick/Walker. You can think of H/R/W as a somewhat "lighter" version of H/R/K.

So if I ever manage to understand the contents on the textbook I'm using. Is it safe to say that my knowledge of physics is close to an undergrad physics student?

Klaz said:
So if I ever manage to understand the contents on the textbook I'm using. Is it safe to say that my knowledge of physics is close to an undergrad physics student?