Is Intro to Mathematical Physics as Challenging as It Sounds?

In summary: I bought it more recently as I was curious how math methods have changed over the years. The book is a good one to have.
Jacobalg
I am transfer student and this going to be my first year in university. My major is electrical engineering and one of my requirements is to take an upper level physics course. I chose mathematical methods however the title of the class is intro to mathematical physics and i am worried that because its an upper level course it means that its going to be very difficult. I have take engineering physics 1 and 2 and passed both classes with A's and have taken differential equations and passed it with an A. If any of you guys have taken this class can you please tell me your experience with this course with regards to workload,exam difficulty,final grade and its comparison with engineering physics 1&2. I am just worried that taking this class with circuits will take a toll on me and i really do not want to mess up my first year. lastly the book i am given for this class is mathematical methods in the physical sciences by Mary L. Boas 3rd edition.

Physics news on Phys.org
Jacobalg said:
If any of you guys have taken this class can you please tell me your experience with this course with regards to workload,exam difficulty,final grade and its comparison with engineering physics 1&2.

We really can't tell. This is very university specific. Even the contents is university specific.
It is also person specific, some people will have an easier time with math courses as others; But if you passed your previous math courses with an A, I wouldn't be excessively worried.

lastly the book i am given for this class is mathematical methods in the physical sciences by Mary L. Boas 3rd edition.

That's a very good book. Can't go wrong with that one.

Jacobalg said: