Is honors linear algebra worth it?

In summary, the conversation is about whether or not it would be beneficial for a physics major to take the honors linear algebra course in addition to the regular linear algebra course. Some argue that the honors course is more rigorous and can help with developing the mind, while others argue that it may be a waste of time for a physicist and that it's better to learn linear algebra as needed in physics courses. Ultimately, it may depend on the specific professors and their teaching styles.
ThomsonT
Hey everyone, I'm majoring in physics and will be starting my first year in the fall. I'm currently registered in honors linear algebra, but have been thinking that it might be beneficial to take the regular linear algebra course. I'm also in honors calculus, but I know I want to stay in that. I do enjoy math quite a bit, however I am unsure if the honors course will be incredibly helpful. If anyone has any advice on this it would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
If you want to go on to graduate school (or simply excel as an undergraduate) and you are a motivated student, honors courses can only help. The additional rigor they emphasize and pressure they place you under are good for developing the mind. What do you think would get you in better shape: a twice a week Pilates class or Navy SEAL boot camp?

Generally schools have a 2-3 week no penalty drop/add should they be too much.

Linear Algebra isn't really that useful of a course IMO. You will use tons and tons of linear algebra in physics, but most of it you won't see in that class. You'll spend most of your time proving theorems about abstract vector spaces that have nothing to do with physics.