Is Higher Mathematics Crucial in Understanding Quantum Mechanics?

In summary, the speaker is an undergraduate student taking their first course in QM and is struggling with the mathematical formalism. They feel that the use of vocabulary and definitions from higher algebra, topology, and functional analysis is alien to them and they are expected to take it on faith. The suggested textbook does not provide much help. They have also faced similar struggles in other courses and are wondering if they are getting ahead of themselves and if they should focus on completing the course before delving into the deeper understanding of the math. The response advises to continue learning and revisiting the subject for a deeper understanding, while also focusing on solving physics problems and not being too idealistic. The speaker, who is in grad school, also shares a similar struggle
Lavabug
I'm an undergrad currently taking my first course in QM. We've just about finished our chapters on the mathematical formalism and it has been making me pose a lot of questions. We use a lot of vocabulary/definitions that I suspect come from higher algebra, topology, & functional analysis all which are alien to me at this stage in my curriculum. Terms like compactness, completeness, orthogonal functions to name a few, I feel like am expected to take them on faith without really knowing what they mean/why they're used in QM (I can see the parallelism between the cartesian unit vectors i,j,k and cos/sin functions in the interval [0, 2pi], but that's about it). Our suggested textbook (Cohen's) doesn't aid me much other than giving me more precise definitions of what is talked about in class.