Is gravity a quantum phenomena or not?

In summary, this is what I have gathered: Sabine says that there is no theory of gravity at high energies, but John Donoghue says that the low energy effective theory is established and standard. It is not clear what Sabine means by "high energies."
ftr
You Heard me.:smile:

Seriously, I have seen some so called low effective theories of gravity, so if they are any good why aren't they taken to be as established theories, since all other ones seem to be valid in some energy scale anyway. Although I do admit that I dislike this adding one more field on top of others to describe a new phenomenon while everything should be derived from some basic entity.As an example
https://arxiv.org/pdf/hep-th/0211072.pdf

P.S. I know of the graviton argument, but higgs was not discovered for many decades either.

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi ftr:

I am not an expert, and I am sure what you are asking. I am guessing you want to know the current status of not-quite-theories concerning the unification of GR with QFT.

From a few conversations about black holes here on the PFs, I have learned that there are a few partial unifications that have some usefulness, but not yet any complete unification. A partial unification has been developed which includes that math for Hawking radiation. I think you might find the thread below of some interest.

Regards,
Buzz

Yes, gravity is a quantum phenomenon, and the low energy effective theory is established and standard.

The paper you linked to is one such paper.

https://arxiv.org/abs/1209.3511
The effective field theory treatment of quantum gravity
John F. Donoghue

https://arxiv.org/abs/1702.00319
EPFL Lectures on General Relativity as a Quantum Field Theory
John F. Donoghue, Mikhail M. Ivanov, Andrey Shkerin

https://arxiv.org/abs/1105.3735
Theoretical Aspects of Massive Gravity
Kurt Hinterbichler