Is Gravitation by MTW Out of Print?

In summary: I have no idea when my copy was published, but it was around $120.The original publisher discontinued printing the book, possibly because after 43 years with many intervening upgrades to their computer systems and mergers of publishing companies they could no longer find/read the files used to print it. A new printing (adding only a new preface and an introduction) will be published by Princeton University Press later this year, 2017.
CJ2116
Hi everyone,

When I graduated college about 4 years ago I had to, regrettably, sell off many of my math/physics books to pay back my student loans. One of my favorites was Gravitation. For the past few months I have been looking to buy it again, but it looks like all of the major sellers (Amazon, BN, Half.com/Ebay etc.) are out of stock. Even worse, second hand copies are running for close to $300 US!

Does anyone know if there are going to be reprints soon? Even the books' publisher W. H. Freeman doesn't have a website for it anymore.

Thanks!

Chris

Physics news on Phys.org
Ah, it's been a few days since I checked, but it does at least look like there are now copies for around $200. Still very expensive, though!

The new copies are all from third-party sellers, not from Amazon itself. They're probably "old stock." If the book were "in print" and available from the publisher, surely Amazon would sell it directly, possibly with a notice "out of stock, more copies coming soon" or something like that.

I emailed Macmillan, and customersupport@macmillanusa.com replied to me with: "The text Gravitation is no longer being printed . Please let me know if you have any questions."

It would be nice if they reprinted it in several volumes. My back can't take it any more.

The Bill said:
I emailed Macmillan, and customersupport@macmillanusa.com replied to me with: "The text Gravitation is no longer being printed . Please let me know if you have any questions."