Is Earth's Distance from the Sun the Key to Life on Our Planet?

In summary, the theory posits that certain components are necessary for the development of life, and that Earth is the only planet with these conditions. Several components are required for life to develop, including an energy source (the sun), an environment with the correct chemical composition, and a distance from the sun. The theory also assumes that the growth of the sun has not been sufficient to push Earth out of the life zone. If the sun had an infinite life-span, and continued to expand, every planet in our solar system would produce life during the time which they occupied this zone.
nickwetz
I have, through general observation, theorized what I believe to be a logical explanation for the appearance of life on Earth. Although to me, this theory seems to provide a logical and rational explanation for the question of how life appeared on Earth, I have very little knowledge of Physics, and must assume that due to the shear simplicity of the model, this has not only been postulated before, but is indeed incorrect and contains a myriad of fallacious assumptions about physics, astronomy, cosmology etc. That being said, the sole purpose of this post is to learn what, specifically, is problematic, incorrect or impossible about what, to me is a very obvious explanation to the question being asked. So, as simply as possible, this is what I have concluded. Several components are required to allow for the possibility of life. First, an energy source, in our case the sun. Second, an environment with the required chemical composition to allow for a "primordial soup" scenario, given an energy source is provided. With what little knowledge of the Nebular Theory I do have, it is my understanding that the creation of the planets (in our solar system for the purposes of this discussion) was the result of a myriad of events, ultimately resulting in the collision of particles from the solar nebula which formed th