Is an engineering minor worth it?

In summary, the speaker is currently majoring in biostatistics and physics with a concentration in biophysics. They are considering adding a minor in biomedical engineering due to the overlap between the two majors. However, they are unsure if it will benefit them in their goal to go into medical physics and potentially pursue an MPH. The other person in the conversation advises against getting a minor and suggests focusing on practical skills and taking classes that interest them instead. They believe that minors are not very valuable.
riar95
Hi! I'm currently majoring in biostatistics and physics (biophysics concentration). Because there is significant overlap between the biophysics and biomedical engineering majors, if I take a few extra classes, I'd get a biomedical engineering minor. I'm looking to go into medical physics and maybe getting my mph, but even though it would actually be really easy to get a bme minor, I'm not sure if it would help me in any way? Should I do it?

Physics news on Phys.org
I have honestly never heard of someone having an engineering minor.

Will the earning of that minor mean that you know how to DO more things than you would without the minor? Other than just your courses for the major field of your choice, try to learn courses that will help you be able to DO MORE THINGS, like practical things, practical skills.

Generally, minors are worth slightly less than the paper they're printed on.

don't bother with a minor, just take classes that interest you. a minor is simply electrives focused on one area. You can do that same thing in any area you want

Related to Is an engineering minor worth it?

1. Is an engineering minor beneficial for my career?

Yes, an engineering minor can be a valuable addition to your resume and can make you a more competitive candidate for jobs in various industries. It shows that you have a diverse skill set and can apply engineering principles to problem-solving.