Is A First Course In Calculus a good book for a beginner?

In summary, Lang's book is a good choice for a beginner, but it may be supplemented with other texts to become more proficient.
James M
I am going to purchase a calculus textbook named "A First Course in Calculus" By Serge Lang, is this a good book for a beginner? I mean, complete beginner? This is my first time being exposed to Calculus.

Also, if this is not a beginner friendly book, is there any different textbooks that I can purchase to self teach myself calculus ?

Physics news on Phys.org
Yes, it should be good for a complete beginner. He doesn't even assume you know trig and logarithms (although I do recommend you know them before reading).

Likes James M
I also like Lang's book. However it has Lang's special take on textbook writing. It explains very clearly the ideas, and steps of arguments. But as I recall it is a bit short on routine exercises, and there is very little repetition. We learn not just by hearing or seeing but also by doing, and hence one should probably augment Lang's clear explanations by some tiresome sets of exercises which give one practice at computing what he has explained. But it has been many years since I saw his book. Maybe it has been expanded. At the time I thought, wow this is so clear and brief, why is it not more popular? So be aware that while people who know the subject well, llike micromass and I, think it is as clear as can be, some beginners think it is too terse.