Is a car's top speed the same on a wet road?

In summary, two experts in car physics simulation are discussing the behavior of a car's top speed in different conditions. The games programmer believes that the top speed will be slower in wet conditions due to a decrease in the coefficient of friction, while the designer thinks the car could eventually reach the same top speed as in dry conditions. They both agree that the coefficient of static friction and rolling resistance play a role in determining the car's top speed, but disagree on the extent of their influence. Further research and simulations are needed to accurately model these forces and their effects on the car's performance.
electrodruid
I'm a games programmer who is writing a simple car physics simulation, and I've had a disagreement with the designer about a car's behaviour - specifically, its top speed - in different conditions.

Imagine a car accelerating from a standing start to top speed along a perfectly straight, flat road. We know the car's mass, so we can calculate acceleration at any given moment using a = F/m ... To calculate the forces I'm assuming that the car is resisted by a drag force (proportional to the car's velocity squared), and rolling resistance (proportional to the car's velocity), and is accelerated forward by a tractive force. I have a function that returns a traction force for a given velocity. It's arrived at by slightly convoluted means and is meant to represent high torque in lower gears, decreasing as the car speeds up and the driver changes up through the gears, and it looks kind of like a graph of y = 1/x