Intuition behind Hamilton's Variational Principle

In summary, the conversation focused on the Lagrangian evaluated along different parameters and how it relates to the path chosen by Nature. The concept of variations in the calculus of variations was also discussed, which allows for theoretical results without specifying a specific family of functions. The use of "specific, but unrevealed" items in proofs was also mentioned as a common method in mathematics.
sigma_
Background: I am an upper level undergraduate physics student who just completed a course in classical mechanics, concluding with Lagrangian Mechanics and Hamilton's Variational Principle.

My professor gave a lecture on the material, and his explanation struck me as a truism.
Essentially, he argued that the difference between the Lagrangian evaluated along the parameters describing the true path and the Lagrangian evaluated along parameters corresponding to a mild perturbation of the parameters by a function αη(x), where α is a scale factor, is zero.

Where exactly is the profundity in this statement? I understood it as "If we deviate the parameters away from the parameters that minimize the integral, and then take the limit as that deviation vanishes, the difference between the path described by these two sets of parameters is zero and the path must be the true path." Well of course this is true. What am I missing?
Alternatively are there any decent texts that outline this principle at an undergraduate level?

Physics news on Phys.org
sigma_ said:
My professor gave a lecture on the material, and his explanation struck me as a truism.
What was he explaining?

How would you give a intuitive argument that the extrema of a function occur where its derivative is zero? You'd probably say that when x varies slightly from the place of extrema, there is very little change in f(x). Would that be a truism?