Interships & Career in physics

In summary, Benjamin is a French student who is doing a year abroad at the university of Texas at Austin. He is taking all the physics senior undergraduate courses UT offers and his GPA is >3.0. He would like to get into a phd program here (UT or in the US), but he is only taking the GRE in april so he can't apply anywhere for Fall 2007. He has two options: to stay in the US if he has an internship or to go back to France for a year and do a physics master's degree. Benjamin is undecided which option he should choose.
BioBen
Hi,
I am a French student in theoretical physics i am doing a year abroad at the university of Texas at Austin.
I am taking all the physics senior undergraduate courses UT offers, and my GPA is >3.0 (on a 4.0 scale).

I would like to get into a phd program here (UT or in the US), but i am only taking the GRE in april so i couldn't apply anywhere for Fall 2007.
The question is : what should i do during fall2007 then ?
I can only stay in the US if i have an internship ; i also have the opportunity to go to StonyBrook to take some grad courses too, but i don't know if it has a good grad program in physics.

What should I do ?
Internship during Fall2007 ? StonyBrook ? Go back to france for a year (in a physics master's degree) ?

Thanks for your help !
Benjamin

Physics news on Phys.org
If you take graduate courses, can you get an assistantship? If so, then you'll be making money, and this is much better than doing an internship. If not, then you're probably better off making money for a semester (unless you happen to be rich). The only problem is that it's rather difficult to get internships in physics, at least in the corporate world. Sadly, physics isn't one of the more employable majors. So if you've got a decent math background, you might try finding an internship as an analyst.

Hey,
thanks for your quick answer.