Interpretation of augmented Dickey-Fuller results

In summary: Your Name]In summary, the conversation discusses the application of the Augmented Dickey-Fuller test on geophysics data to determine if it is stationary. The results show that the data may still be stationary, based on the tpp and t_1 values being less than their respective significance levels. However, it is important to consider other factors and consult with an expert for a more thorough analysis.
BOYLANATOR
Hi,

I have no background in statistics/econometrics but some theory I'm applying to geophysics data requires the data to be stationary (or at least trend-stationary) and I don't believe they are.

I've found MATLAB code to apply the Augmented Dickey-Fuller test (from here - https://ideas.repec.org/c/boc/bocode/t871806.html) on the attached timeseries. (The red trend is a background trend I might use later but for now I want to test the original blue data.)

The results come in the form:

sigma dw beta0 beta1

tpp dh t0 t1

tppsig dhsig NaN tsig1

The results are:

123.248 2.0302 115.7256 -0.0356

-14.4567 -1.8068 15.3695 -15.5241

0.01 0.0708 NaN 0.01

where sigma = the estimated standard error of the residuals;
dw = the Durbin-Watson statistics of the residuals;
dh = the Durbin h statistic of the residuals;
dhsig = the level of significance at which the (two-sided) null hypothesis
of no (first-order) autocorrelation in the residuals is rejected

beta_0, beta_1 = the estimated values of the coefficients (as above)

t_0, t_1 = the (uncorrected) t-ratios on the coefficients;
tpp = the Phillips-Perron corrected t-ratio on beta_1
tsig_1,tppsig = the levels at which t_1 and tpp are statistically significantly, using Dickey-Fuller critical values;

So, reject a unit root if t_1 in the ADF regression is statistically significant, e.g. tsig_1 <= 0.1,
AND the residuals are not correlated (otherwise the test statistic is inefficient),
OR if tpp (in any regression) is statistically significant (- or both).