Interpetation of wavefunction - atom

In summary: On the other hand, there might be a justification for teaching the historical approach, if it would be done in a way that would not lead students to believe that the outdated models are still the best ones. If, for instance, the outdated models are only used to introduce some of the more general features of the modern models, students would eventually be able to move on to the more modern models without any difficulties. I think that this would be a difficult task, and I'm not sure that it would be possible to do it without giving the impression that the outdated models are still valid.
liquidFuzz
It's now years since I studied this, if anyone could help me remember.

If I look at a hydrogen atom and it's shells. In the ground state there's 1s, the wave function is then:
[itex]\Psi_{nlm}(r,\theta,\phi) = Y_{lm}(\theta,\phi)R_{nl}(r) = Y_{00}R_{10}[/itex]

[itex]Y_{00} = \frac{1}{\sqrt{4\pi}}[/itex]

[itex]R_{10} = 2 \left(\frac{Z}{a_0}\right)^{3/2} e^{-\frac{\rho}{2}}[/itex]

With hydrogen's single proton and n = 1 etc.

[itex]\Psi_{100} = \frac{1}{\sqrt{\pi}} \left(\frac{1}{a_0}\right)^{3/2} e^{-\frac{r}{a_0}}[/itex] - I just looked up this in Physics Handbook. Now I can't remember how to interpret this.

My stumbling interpretations
I the Bohr model there's fixed energy levels, but this calculation shows a high likeliness of the atom being in the centre. Is this right? Further, is the model predicting a likely radial position for a electron sitting in the 1s energy state?

Physics news on Phys.org
liquidFuzz said:
Now I can't remember how to interpret this.

The square of this expression gives the probability distribution for the electron being at location [itex](r, \theta, \phi)[/itex] with respect to the nucleus. Obviously in this case (n = 1, l = 0, m = 0) it doesn't actually depend on either of the angles; but for other combinations of n, l, m it does.