Internships as a Quantitative Analyst

In summary, the individual is a 3rd semester Physics student interested in pursuing a career in theoretical physics or economics, specifically as a "quants guy". They are seeking advice and suggestions for internships in this field during the upcoming spring holidays. However, internships in this field are highly competitive and mostly offered by small proprietary trading firms. The individual is recommended to seek assistance from their career services office and finance students or professors.
Johannes
Hello,

I'm currently a 3rd semester Physics Student. I am not really sure in whit direction I want to go, I am tending towards theoretical physics rather than experimental, but I am also interested in ecomonics, so maybe becoming a "quants guy" might be a good idea, but compared with the research work at universities, I know hardly anything about how this job is like, so I would like to do in internship in this field the upcoming spring holidays for about 4 - 8 weeks.
Does anyone of you have any suggestions or advice, like what companies or institutes take interns or what to search for? When looking at the websites of the usual suspects, I can only find short internship programs for MBA students or things like that.

Thank you in advance,

Johannes

Physics news on Phys.org
Johannes said:
Hello,

I'm currently a 3rd semester Physics Student. I am not really sure in whit direction I want to go, I am tending towards theoretical physics rather than experimental, but I am also interested in ecomonics, so maybe becoming a "quants guy" might be a good idea, but compared with the research work at universities, I know hardly anything about how this job is like, so I would like to do in internship in this field the upcoming spring holidays for about 4 - 8 weeks.