Interference of Probability Waves: A Quantum Physics Intro

In summary: I know you think that, but it is not correct. For example, how can mass-less particles like photons undergo collisions? Even for massive particles, you have BEC states that allow an arbitrary number of spin-zero bosons to populate the same quantum state.
nouveau_riche
i am new to quantum physics,can anyone help me with this

can probability waves interfere?or they can produce an interference pattern?

Physics news on Phys.org
sure they do.

A particle is a limited space of energy where constructive inteference has occurred. A particle is a bundle, or quanta, of energy or momentum quantum fields which spread everywhere. And a particle such as an orbital electron can be thought of as a resonant cavity, a confined wave, a standing wave, having a discrete series of frequencies.

yes that can, when a whole group of particles are placed in close proximaty to each other then their interference acts positively to create a larger posibilaty that you'll find that object there, aka, the probability spike gets larger in that position. That is why you do not see a cricket bat changing position suddenly, as the probabilty wave for that bat being there is so large that the chances that it will be somewhere else are nigh-on-impossible, but not impossible :)

nouveau_riche said:

Yes. An experiment similar to two-slit interference for light, has been done with electrons:

http://www.hitachi.com/rd/research/em/doubleslit.html

Note carefully that the interference pattern appears (gradually) even when only one electron at a time passes through the apparatus.

nouveau_riche said:
i am new to quantum physics,can anyone help me with this

They have a "probability" of interference that varies in a regular way both over time and space.

jtbell said:
Yes. An experiment similar to two-slit interference for light, has been done with electrons:

http://www.hitachi.com/rd/research/em/doubleslit.html