Interesting kinematics problem.

In summary: The particle moves along the edge of the vane and eventually falls off. This is rotation on a horizontal plane, so gravity is pointing down into the page (or monitor screen).
Curl
I want to find a function describing the motion of the particle undergoing the type of motion depicted.

Basically it is a particle on a rotating vane (constant angular speed) and at some time it is released. The particle will move along the edge to the tip of the vane (and eventually fall off). This is rotation on a horizontal plane, so gravity is pointing down into the page (or monitor screen).

[PLAIN]http://img203.imageshack.us/img203/5241/rotation.gif

Unfortunately, as you all know, I'm not good at math, so I got stuck. I tried this:

*Put a coordinate system on the ball. One direction is the r direction (along the vane) and the second is the theta direction (normal to r).
*I said the acceleration in the r direction is r*w^2, and in the theta direction is dr/dt*w
Anything I do from here becomes a mess.

Can anyone get a function for the motion of this particle? I know it must look like a snail shell type curve. Thanks.

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
First define the planes as XYZ. The Z plane is "down" and that velocity vector is determined solely by acceleration due to gravity. The velocity vector resulting from the rotational acceleration is in solely in the XY plane. The easiest thing for me to do would be to use two equations to determine the particle's velocity in the three planes. The velocity due to gravity will occur independently of the velocity in the XY plane and is described by:

Vz = g * T

Assuming the particle "slides" rather than "rolls", and there is no friction, the particle will exit the vane with a speed equal to: