Question about two-clock experiment

• Thread starter mouseman
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Experiment
In summary, the conversation delves into the topic of the two-clock experiment and whether gravity affects the progression of time or the mechanics of each clock. The consensus is that the results of the experiment align with the prediction that the difference in gravitational potential causes the difference in time. There is some discussion about the possibility of time being absolute and how light speed travel may affect time dilation. It is also mentioned that the concept of time dilation can lead to a problem of cause and effect.
mouseman
I asked this question on the old forum but i didnt get a chance to see if anyone answered it, so i apologize for the repetition:

Firstly I want to say that I am totally new to theoretical physics so please bear with me. In regards to the two-clock experiment, would it be at all possible that gravity was not affecting the progression of time, but the mechanics of each clock? I ask this not to claim that time is absolute. Just to question the validity of the experiment.

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
No, it's not possible. It is the difference in gravitational potential that causes the difference in time.

Even if the clocks were in a perfectly uniform Field, where each clock felt exactly the same force of gravity, the higher one would run faster.

The experiments performed give results that match this prediction. If it were the force of gravity that each clock felt that caused the difference, you would get different results than the predicted one.

In regards to the two-clock experiment, would it be at all possible that gravity was not affecting the progression of time, but the mechanics of each clock? I ask this not to claim that time is absolute. Just to question the validity of the experiment.