Integrable Quantum Field Theory

In summary, the speaker is studying Quantum Field Theory and is interested in the relationship between QFT and Integrable QFT. They ask for a theoretical background of Integrable QFT, the relationship between the two field theories, the most interesting part of Integrable QFT, and the Ising Model. They also question if the work on Integrable QFT is complete and in what direction it can still be improved. The response is that integrable QFT requires an infinite number of conserved quantities and is mainly used in conformal field theories. It is not complete and calculating beyond the first few conservation laws is difficult.
wam_mi
Hi there,

I am currently studying Quantum Field Theory (well, for about 3 weeks isch), and it's really good fun! I would like to know how QFT relates Integrable QFT... I don't really know what it is. Can anyone tell me

(i) The theoretical background of Integrable QFT
(ii) The relationship between these two field theories
(iii) What's the most interesting part of Integrable QFT (in your opinion)
(iv) The Ising Model (I have read some papers about it, but I don't really understand what's going on there!)
(v) Is the work on Integrable QFT complete now, or can we still improve it? What direction though?

Thank you!

Physics news on Phys.org
You're asking a hell of a question. Are you familiar with classical integrable systems? The question is so wide that only a short reply is appropriate. There are a variety of approaches, mainly Bethe Anzatz, and quantum inverse scattering are used.

i) The main point of integrable QFT is we need an infinite number of conserved quantities in a field theory. There are an important class of field theories where this is automatically true, and these are conformal field theories, and are useful to statistical mechanics, amongst a variety of other areas of physics. Learn standard QFT first, it's much more relevant to reality.