Insulation Resistance Testing - Issue with Hi-Pot Tester

In summary, the speaker is discussing using a HiPot tester to test for leakage between a string-pot and housing case. The minimum capable voltage of the tester is 100VDC, while the requirement for the test is 45VDC. To achieve this voltage, the speaker plans to use two power resistors to divide the voltage down to 50V. They are concerned about the wattage rating for the resistors, as leakage could result in high resistances and potentially cause the resistors to burn up. The speaker is not an EE by trade and is seeking advice for the best way to design the resistors for this test. The conversation also mentions that it may not matter if the test is done at 100 volts instead
elmos
So, I have a HiPot tester with a minimum capable voltage of 100VDC.

I'm testing for any leakage between a string-pot and the housing case for the unit it goes into, with the requirement being 45VDC applied to it. With the HiPot tester incapable of supplying a voltage that low, I am thinking of using two power resistors to divide the voltage down to 50V, and then supplying that voltage to the EUT. I'm using power resistors to prevent the resistors from burning up in the event that I have leakage.

My question is: "what rated wattage should I choose for the resistors?" Is it a simple P=V^2/I problem? I'm guessing that leakage could result from fairly high resistances (kOhm range), but then it's entirely possible to have it down to 1 ohm or less if the wiring is bad.

I'm not a EE by trade (Aerospace), and I've been thrown into putting together this test for a qualification effort, so any advice would be much appreciated.

Engineering news on Phys.org
If you put resistors across your tester, the tester will read the value of the resistors.

Would it matter if you tested at 100 volts? If it was OK at 100 volts, it would be OK at 50, surely?

To answer your question, you work out the worst case and design your resistors accordingly.