Instrumentation & calibration curve related

In summary: Excel. :)In summary,The first question the expert is not sure how to answer. The second question is if the user can divide the curve into multiple sections and use different equations for those sections. The third question is how to find the best fit curve and which type of curve (degree of the equation) is suitable for these sorts of cases. The fourth question is if there is any software available which can make multi-sectioned curves and automatically calculates parameters in different sections to best fit the curve (this question is related to Question no 2, I mean to ask that using same equation finding the constants of the equation in user defined section number and region). The fifth question is if there is a software available which can make multi
electronica75
I am new to instruments. My project is to modify an existing colorimeter which presently measure several chemical compositions in water. Colorimeters as you know is a simple version of a atomic absorption spectro-photometer (as far as I understand) which uses only the visible light spectrum to detect optical density of a liquid and converts the absorbance into chemical concentration. I have to add new programs to detect new chemicals to the instrument.

We had some data with the new chemical (to be added in the newer version). I used LABFIT to find the best fit curve equation. Instead of absorbance we are measuring the RATIO (Blank/Specimen, photo sensor voltage ratios). My questions are as follows:

1) The best fit curve I find doesn’t start at Ratio=1.0, concentration=0.0, so what I did, I added an offset correction to the equation. Is is OK? or I have to find an equation which
gives concentration=0.0 at RATIO=1.0 accurately?