Understanding dy/dx in Calculus

• Thread starter david90
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Calculus
In summary, the notation dy/dx comes from Leibniz's notation for derivatives, where 'd' or delta represents 'a small change in'. It can behave as a fraction, allowing for properties like the chain rule. However, the derivative is strictly defined as a limit and should not be separated into 'dy' and 'dx' without considering the limit. Additionally, 'dx' is defined symbolically and should not appear in an equation without a corresponding 'dy' or vice versa, unless it is in an integral.
david90
I don't get the concept of the notation dy/dx. Sometimes my physics teacher puts dx in the back of an equation and cross multiply with other number. Does this mean dx can be multiply like numbers? I just don't get the overall concept of dy/dx.

I'm in 3rd year calculus and I understand that derivative is the instantaneous rate of change but how does it relates to the notation?

Mathematics news on Phys.org
I hope I don't confuse you more (I'm not entirely certain myself).

The notation dy/dx comes from Leibniz's notation of derivatives. Originally, he used the Greek small delta (δ) which looks a bit like a 'd'. Anyway, the d or delta represents 'a small change in'. So dy/dx means 'the small change in y, with relation to x'.

Now the dy/dx notation has one useful property to it, and that is that it can behave as a fraction. Consider the Chain Rule:

dy/dx = dy/du * du/dx

The du's can cancel as though they were in fractions, to give you dy/dx again.

This becomes more pointed with differential equations and the relation with integration, where you can 'move' the dx to be able to integrate a DE.

I think that should about cover the very basic info about dy/dx notation... you'll probably get a better answer from a real mathematician...

Good luck. :smile:

Last edited: