Inflationary vs deflationary phase of Big Bang

BIGphysician
TL;DR Summary
Shape of the big bang? And universe?
Hi I'm a medical doctor, this is just a hobby my uncle got me interested in as a kid. If the universe is acceleration and galaxies are moving further apart, we assume the universe as a whole is expanding as a result. It's also projected to my understanding that eventually the universe will contact and a cycle of matter and force creation will be recycled four the next big bang.

How do we know that we aren't accelerating towards a singular contraction point rather than away from one (deflating vs inflating). Every galaxy is moving away from every other at the same rate and distance?

What's the shape of the universe? If it's an expanding sphere with a centrally located origin of force, galaxies originating from different relative locations at the singularity would result in different relative distances?

Space news on Phys.org
Is that what your uncle told you?

• Haha
Likes Vanadium 50 and berkeman
Welcome to PF, doctor. :smile:

Have a look at some of the PF Insights articles about the Big Bang and related issues, to see if they help with your understanding:

https://www.physicsforums.com/insights/?s=big+bang

PeroK said:
Is that what your uncle told you?
Something like that, he wrote a several thousand page primer on quantum mechanics but it's over my head, what's your view of the meta physics

BIGphysician said:
If the universe is acceleration and galaxies are moving further apart, we assume the universe as a whole is expanding as a result.
No, we don't assume - we can see distant galaxies moving away in all directions. It's also a fairly straightforward implication of feeding the cosmological principle into Einstein's Field Equations.
BIGphysician said:
It's also projected to my understanding that eventually the universe will contact
Assuming you mean "contract" here, maybe. Our best estimates don't rule out an eternally expanding universe.