Infinite Solutions to e^x = c?

In summary, the conversation discusses the relationship between polynomials and infinite series, specifically the exponential function e^x. It is mentioned that polynomials have a finite number of solutions, while the exponential function may have an infinite number of roots. However, it is also noted that the exponential function has one exception, zero, according to Picard's theorems. The discussion also touches on the connection between exponential and trigonometric functions in complex analysis.
Frogeyedpeas
Hello,

I have some background in complex analysis (a very minimal amount) but I did come up with a rather odd question.

Given a polynomial a + bx + cx^2 + dx^3... nx^n

There exists n or fewer solutions to the equation that each have a multiplicity of 1 to n.

Given that information suppose we take the exponential function e^x and break it down to its taylor series:

1 + x/1! + x^2/2! + x^3/3! + x^4/4!...

Doesn't that mean that there are infinite roots to the exponential function which may be equal to some type of infinity (or not)

The exponential-infinite roots of unity?

If they are positioned @ infinities then are there more "projective-like" relationships between them that allows you to differentiate between the roots of say e^x and 2^x?

Physics news on Phys.org
polynomials are defined for for finite orders of n and so those theorems are not valid for infinite series.

Does that mean that theorems attached to them do not extend or generalize to infinite orders of n?

Example: The solution to the equation x3 + 1 = 0

We arrange it to:

x3 = -1

so x = [itex]\sqrt[3]{-1}[/itex] = -1 , [itex]\frac{1 - i\sqrt{3}}{2}[/itex], [itex]\frac{1 + i\sqrt{3}}{2}[/itex]

The negatives of the three roots of unity...