Inertial vs accelerating frame

In summary, the concept of being in an inertial frame only applies in flat spacetime. In special relativity, a falling observer is considered non-inertial, but in general relativity, they are considered inertial in a local sense. The equivalence principle states that in a small enough region, it is impossible to distinguish between freefall in a gravitational field and no gravity. However, tidal forces can disrupt this equivalence. There are three types of acceleration: coordinate, acceleration 4-vector, and proper acceleration, and it is important to know which one is being discussed. In SR, the falling observer is non-inertial, but in GR, they are inertial. The concept of SR does not apply in GR.
Rear Naked
I'm free-falling towards a planet.

Inertial or not?

I suppose this is a postulate of general relativity isn't it?

When I'm studying special relativity I would say Non-inertial, but then if I think about how I cannot really tell if I am accelerating or just traveling a constant velocity, I'm getting confused.

What say you?

Physics news on Phys.org
yes, er,no...actually depnds on which vision you have:

Newton says: you are accelerating,

Einstein says: no way, you feel no force, therefore you are moving inertially (excluding tidal effects)...

So in SR I am non-inertial, but in GR I am inertial?

:bugeye:

Do Not Like.

The concept of an inertial frame only really has meaning in flat spacetime.

If you work in special relativity and regard a gravitational field as a fixed potential applying forces to a system of particles, sort of like a static electric field where everything has the same mass/charge ratio, then a falling observer is not inertial. It's then the observation that you can't tell the difference between freefall in gravity and no gravity (if you're looking in a small enough region) that leads to the equivalence principle.