Induction in two coils that are connected :S

In summary: I'm getting lost here.In summary, the student is struggling with electromagnetism and asks for help with a question. They start by explaining Faradays law and how it can be used to calculate the EMF induced in a loop. They then explain how the loop can be folded to make two rings and derive the current through the loop in terms of the EMF and the loop resistance. The final part of the question asks for the potential difference between the two parts of the loop at their crossing point. The student assumes that Kirchoff's current law would apply and calculates that the EMF would be equal to the sum of the two loop resistances. However, when they add another loop, the current in that
randybryan
I'm a third year physics undergrad and I still massively struggle with electromagnetism - especially induction. Here's the opening part of the question:

A loop is placed in an external alternating magnetic field that is perpendicular to the plane of the loop, with B=B0sin(ωt). Consider first the case where the loop makes a circle of radius r and calculate the EMF induced in the loop in terms of the magnetic field B0.

This seemed simple, and I just use Faradays law and the fact that the magnetic field is the only variable changing to give

EMF = -πr2ωcos(ωt).

The next part is trickier.

The loop is now folded to make two rings of radii r1 and r2, as shown in the
figure with corresponding resistances R1 and R2. Derive the formula for the
current flowing in the wire in terms of the electromotive forces E1 and E2
induced in the two parts of the loop, and their resistances R1 and R2.

The figure just shows a smaller circular loop within the larger circular loop.

Now I assumed because the current must be the same at all places in the loop (Kirchoff's laws) then E1/R1=E2/R2

Of course as the current is changing and presumably inductance is involved, I'm not sure this is correct. It's worth 3 marks and it seems too easy.